On Community as Curriculum & Absolute beginners #rhizo14

W19 ctd even further!
This post explores so many ideas relevant to us as educationalists. How do we foster a sense of community among the diverse people who are our students? How do we engage all of our learners – even the ones who don’t want to engage? How do we set off the busy, fizzy, messy business of real education and real learning? How will we know when we get there? Read this post – tell us what you think!!

Little did I know

Rhizo14

Just as week 5 draws to a close, I finally found the time to do some catching up on some ‘fiery’ blog posts, among which are Jenny Mackness’s and Frances Bell’s, and kinda grasped Jaap’s jokingly (or not) warning me about joining #Rhizo14 over half-way through as I did. Apparently, things got a bit messy in the scholar/ignoramus interplay, and funnily (or happy-go-luckily) enough, I myself made a comment on FB in which I expressed my astonishment at the degree of erudition I’d been encountering in the course. I had no idea at the time I made the comment that all that frisson had been developing, although I began to grow suspicious that there was something in between the lines of the hush-hush tone of the replies to my ‘erudite’ comment. “Down with the power structures!” was my humorous reply to the thread. I hadn’t yet lost my innocence…

View original post 774 more words

Leave a Reply

