Imaginary Friend

Becoming… W5: Study Week: Participant Observation; field research; and field notes

This week the Becoming blog is coming to you courtesy of Mo Abdullahi – one of Quaco’s seminar group students.

Mo got out and about the University – he observed – he took great pictures – he made observations… and already we can see some possible avenues for further research.

Support Mo: read his blog; be inspired; give him some feedback; share your blog posts by adding them in the Comments box on Becoming.

Becoming an Educationalist

Week 5: Participant Observer

Imaginary Friend

Whilst reading the module handbook, I discover that it’s study week. I can’t deny that I’m relieved. I’ll be at work the night before Wednesday’s lecture, so it looks like a nice lie in is on the cards. I continue to scan the handbook and the next line jumps out the page. It says  “In pairs..” Great another group task. Having missed a fair portion of the lectures and seminars due to my employment commitments, I find that I do not know any of my fellow students to pair with.  Looks like I’ll be doing this alone. Feelings of annoyance and regret start to grow in me. I do my best to repress these emotions because I will end up procrastinating and make excuses not to do it.

The task is to explore the University’s different learning spaces as participant observer. Taking pictures and…

View original post 822 more words

Leave a Reply

